EN / FR

Artists Residencies

The Luma Arles residency is a programme developed by the Luma Foundation within the framework of the creative production and research centre currently under construction in Arles, a city located in the Camargue region in the South of France.

Established in 2016, the residency program invites, all year long, world-renowned artists, thinkers, researchers, writers, curators and other practitioners to conduct research and carry out projects related to their artistic fields.

This programme is taking shape in a thousand-year-old, average-size city with a strong identity whose territory is marked by both a unique natural and historical heritage and a remarkable concentration of cultural activities. Fully integrated into the Parc des Ateliers programme, it is enriched by the diverse fields of research in which it operates, such as contemporary production, the environment, hospitality and education.

 

Aslan Ġoisum: artist
(March-June 2020)
Born in 1991 in Grozny (Chechnya).

Aslan Ġoisum employs various artistic media – mainly the moving image, sculptural installation and paper-based techniques – that articulate the collective and individual upheaval marking the North Caucasus history. This inevitably entails analysis of the colonial legacy of the Russian Empire, in all its guises. He lives and works between Grozny and Amsterdam.

Cecilia Bengolea: artist, dancer, performer
(March-June 2020)
Born in 1979 in Buenos Aires (Argentina)

Cecilia Bengolea perceives performance as an animated sculpture that allows her to become object and subject simultaneously within her own work. Her practice is translated in video, performance and sculpture. She researches on anthropological community dance forms both contemporary and archaic. She’s particularly interested in composing with nature symbolics and energies , the elements and within a community of close collaborators such as François Chaignaud, Craig Black Eagle, Erika Miyauichi. She lives and works in Paris.

Flora Katz: researcher, curator, art critic
(January–June 2020)
Born in 1984 in Choisy-Le-Roi, France.
Lives and works in Paris.

Since 2015, Flora Katz has been working at the university Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne on a thesis called: Speculative Realisms and Contemporary Art, Possible Aesthetic and Critical Dialogues: Pierre Huyghe. Concurrently with her research, she teaches at the Institute of Higher Art Education in Paris, collaborates with many reviews (Artpress, Mouvement, Cura) and curates exhibitions.

Jakob Kudsk Steensen: artist
(January–June 2020)
Born in 1987 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

In his work, this multimedia artist brings past, present and future landscapes and ecosystems to life thanks to his micro and macro view of the environment, and through the lens of virtual reality, based on a long process of research in the field and with specialists in species conservation.

Kiluanji Kia Henda: artist, Frieze Artist Award 2017
(spring 2019)
Kiluanji Kia Henda was born in Luanda, Angola, in 1979.
He lives and works between Luanda and Lisbon.

Kiluanji Kia Henda questions, and not without humour, the colonial past of Angola, his native country, as well as the history of the African diasporas in Europe and today’s migration tragedy, while tackling the notions of identity, modernity and political engagement in his artistic practice.

 

Mohamed Bourouissa: artist
(winter 2018-spring 2019)
Mohamed Bourouissa was born in Blida, Algeria, in 1978.
He lives and works in Paris.

Mohamed Bourouissa’s videos, sculptures, photographs and installations have often taken the margins of our society as a starting point. Since his debut, he has been creating a range of super contemporary portraits that try to escape the sociocultural stereotypes of our time, thanks to a constantly renewed collaborative and exchange-driven practice.

 

Yuri Pattison: artist, Frieze Artist Award 2016
(fall/winter 2018-2019)
Yuri Pattison was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1986.
He lives and works in London.

Yuri Pattison uses digital technologies, video and sculpture to conduct extensive research on the social and political ramifications of accelerated technology development and visual density in the all-digital age.

 

Florentina Holzinger: dancer and choreographer
(fall 2018 and spring 2019)
Florentina Holzinger was born in Vienna, Austria, in 1986.
She lives and works between Vienna and Amsterdam.

Florentina Holzinger’s dance pieces are driven by the notion of identity, sexual and physical transgression. Drawing inspiration as much from Viennese Actionism, body art and bodybuilding as from classical ballet, cabaret and even circus, she deconstructs, performance after performance, the very definition of femininity.

 

Paul B. Preciado: philosopher, writer and curator
(January-May 2018)
Paul B. Preciado was born in Burgos, Spain, in 1970.
He lives and works between Paris and Barcelona.

Paul B. Preciado is a writer, a curator and an internationally recognized figure in the fields of the philosophy of the body, gender studies and sexual politics. His first book, Countersexual Manifesto, became a reference point for queer and transfeminist European activism. He is the author of Testo Junkie. Sex, Drugs and Biopolitics and Pornotopia. He recently published An Apartment on Uranus, a collection of his articles for the French daily newspaper Libération since 2013.

 

Pierre-Alexandre Mateos and Charles Teyssou: curators
(October 2017- March 2018)
Respectively born in 1989 and 1988, in Toulouse, France.
They live and work in Paris.

Pierre-Alexandre Mateos and Charles Teyssou are a curator duo based in Paris. In May 2018, they curated the ‘Cruising Pavilion’ exhibition at the 16th Venice Architecture Biennale, interrogating the relationship between minority sexual practices and architecture. A second iteration of their curatorial project was exhibited at Ludlow 38, in New York, in February 2019, and the third and last edition took place at ArkDes in Stockholm, Sweden, in the fall of 2019. In September 2018, they were the curators of a group exhibition on neo-liberal baroque at Converso, Milan. They often contribute to magazines such as Flash Art and L’Officiel Art.

 

Annie Godfrey Larmon: art critic, writer and curator
(October-December 2017)
She lives and works in New York.

Annie Godfrey Larmon is a regular contributor to the American magazine Artforum. She is now writing a book about artists Beverly Pepper and Mary Reid Kelley, as well as her first novel.

 

Anna Colin: curator
(October-December 2016)
She lives and works in London.

Anna Colin is the co-director of the Open School East in Margate, England – a space dedicated to artistic development and the exchange of knowledge and savoir-faire between artistic and local communities. She is also an associate curator at Lafayette Anticipations –Galeries Lafayette Foundation in Paris.

 

Peio Aguirre: art critic, artist and writer
(September-December 2016)
Peio Aguirre was born in Elorrio, Spain, in 1972.
He lives and works in San Sebastián.

Peio Aguirre regularly contributes to frieze magazine. As an independent curator, he was in charge of the Spanish Pavilion at the Venice Biennale 2019 with artists Itziar Okariz and Sergio Prego.

 

Sohrab Mohebbi: curator
(September-December 2016)
Sohrab Mohebbi was born in Tehran, Iran, in 1981.
He lives and works in New York.

Sohrab Mohebbi is a curator at the Sculpture Center in New York. Since 2018, he has curated solo shows by Jean-Luc Moulène, Banu Cennetoğlu and Fiona Connor. For four years, he was an associate curator at REDCAT, an arts centre related to the California Institute of the Arts (CalArts).

 

Ahmet Öğüt: artist
(fall 2016)
Ahmet Öğüt was born in Silvan, Diyarbkır, Turkey, in 1981.
He lives and works between Amsterdam and Berlin.

Ahmet Öğüt is constantly seeking to create works that address complex social issues (immigration, demographic problems, the impact of economic activity on everyday life and workers’ re-appropriation of working tools), with a sense of humour that highlights rather than masks the seriousness of their subject matters.

Linda Yablonsky is the author of The Story of Junk: A Novel, as well as an art critic and journalist. Based in New York, she has been covering the international art world for more than 25 years for many publications, including The New York Times and T Magazine, Bloomberg News, Artforum and Artforum.com, The Art Newspaper and W Magazine. She has also contributed critical essays to monographs or exhibition catalogues on artists including Anish Kapoor, Keith Sonnier, Marilyn Minter, Francesco Vezzoli, Elmgreen & Dragset, Mark Morrisroe and James Nares. During her 2017 residency at Luma Arles, she worked on Why Jeff Koons?, the first book to take complete account of the artist's life and career, to be published in the United States by Henry Holt & Co.

EN / FR

Résidences d’artistes

La résidence Luma Arles est un programme de la Fondation Luma développé dans le cadre du centre de création, de production et de recherche en cours de construction, à Arles, en Méditerranée.

Lancée en 2016, elle accueille tout au long de l’année et sur invitation, artistes, penseurs.ses, chercheurs.ses, écrivains.es et commissaires d’exposition de renommée internationale et parcours divers, afin qu’ils ou elles puissent entamer un travail de recherche et mener à bien des projets spécifiques liés à leur pratique artistique.

Ce programme de résidence prend forme dans une ville millénaire à l’identité forte dont le territoire, marqué par un patrimoine naturel et historique singulier, attire une concentration d’acteurs culturels inédite pour une ville de taille moyenne. Il s’inscrit pleinement au sein du programme du Parc des Ateliers et s'enrichit de champs d’action aussi variés que la création contemporaine, l’environnement, l’hospitalité et l’éducation.

 

Aslan Ġoisum : artiste
(mars à juin 2020)
Né en 1991 à Grozny (Tchétchénie)

Aslan Ġoisum emploie plusieurs médias artistiques – en particulier l’image en mouvement, l’installation de sculptures et les techniques à base de papier – faisant ressortir les bouleversements collectifs et individuels qui ont marqué l’histoire de la Ciscaucasie. Cette réflexion l’a immanquablement conduit à étudier l’héritage colonial de l’Empire russe sous toutes ses formes. Il vit et travaille entre Grozny et Amsterdam.

Cecilia Bengolea : artiste, danseuse, performeuse
(mars à juin 2020)
Née en 1979 à Buenos Aires (Argentine)

Cecilia Bengolea voit la performance comme une sculpture animée lui permettant de devenir en même temps objet et sujet de ses œuvres. Elle pratique tour à tour la vidéo, la performance et la sculpture. Elle étudie les formes anthropologiques archaïques et contemporaines de danse en communauté. Elle s’intéresse tout particulièrement à la façon de composer avec les symboliques et les énergies de la nature, avec les éléments et au sein d’une communauté de collaborateurs choisis, dont François Chaignaud, Craig Black Eagle et Erika Miyauichi. Elle vit et travaille à Paris.

Flora Katz : chercheuse, commissaire d’exposition, critique d’art
(janvier à juin 2020 )
Née en 1984 à Choisy-Le-Roi.
Elle vit et travaille à Paris.

Flora Katz travaille depuis 2015 sur une thèse à l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne intitulée : « Réalismes spéculatifs et art contemporain, possibles dialogues esthétiques et critiques : Pierre Huyghe ». En parallèle à son travail de recherche, elle enseigne à l’Institut d’Etudes Supérieures d’art de Paris, collabore à de nombreuses revues (Artpress, Mouvement, Cura) et catalogues d’expositions, et poursuit de concert une activité de commissaire d’exposition.

Jakob Kudsk Steensen : artiste
(janvier à juin 2020)
Né en 1987 à Copenhague au Danemark

Dans son travail cet artiste multimédia fait revivre des paysages et des écosystèmes passés, présents et futurs grâce à sa vision micro et macro de l’environnement, et par le prisme de la réalité virtuelle, à partir d’un long processus de recherche sur le terrain et auprès de spécialistes des questions de la préservation des espèces.

Kiluanji Kia Henda : artiste, Frieze Artist Award 2017
(printemps 2019)
Kiluanji Kia Henda est né à Luanda (Angola) en 1979.
Il vit et travaille entre Luanda et Lisbonne.

Kiluanji Kia Henda est un artiste multimédia qui remet en question le passé colonial de l’Angola, son pays d’origine, l’histoire des diasporas africaines en Europe, et la tragédie migratoire actuelle tout en se confrontant, dans sa pratique, aux notions d’identité, de modernité et d’engagement politique.

 

Mohamed Bourouissa : artiste
(hiver 2018-printemps 2019)
Mohamed Bourouissa est né à Blida (Algérie) en 1978.
Il vit et travaille à Paris.

Les vidéos, sculptures, photographies et installations de Mohamed Bourouissa ont souvent pour point de départ les marges de notre société. Il réalise, depuis ses débuts, une galerie de portraits hyper contemporains qui tentent d’échapper aux stéréotypes socio-culturels de notre époque, grâce aux collaborations et aux échanges nés de ses rencontres.

 

Yuri Pattison : artiste, Frieze Artist Award 2016
(automne-hiver 2018-2019)
Yuri Pattison est né à Dublin (Irlande) en 1986.
Il vit et travaille à Londres.

Yuri Pattison utilise les technologies numériques, la vidéo et la sculpture afin de mener à bien des recherches poussées sur les ramifications sociales et politiques de l’accélération du développement des technologies et de la densité visuelle à l’heure du tout-numérique.

 

Florentina Holzinger : danseuse et chorégraphe
(automne 2018 et printemps 2019)
Née à Vienne (Autriche) en 1986.
Elle vit et travaille entre Vienne et Amsterdam.

Les créations de Florentina Holzinger ont pour moteur la transgression identitaire, sexuelle et physique. S’inspirant aussi bien de l’actionnisme viennois, du body art et du culturisme que du ballet classique, du cabaret, voire du cirque, elle déconstruit, spectacle après spectacle, la définition même du féminin.

 

Paul B. Preciado : philosophe, écrivain, commissaire d’exposition
(janvier-mai 2018)
Paul B. Preciado est né à Burgos (Espagne) en 1970.
Il vit et travaille entre Paris et Barcelone.

Écrivain et commissaire d’exposition, Paul B. Preciado est une figure internationalement reconnue de la philosophie du corps, des études de genre et de la politique sexuelle. Son premier livre, Manifeste contra-sexuel, est devenu une référence pour l'activisme européen queer et transféministe. Il est l'auteur de Testo junkie : Sexe, drogues et biopolitique et de Pornotopie : Playboy et l’invention de la sexualité multimédia. Son dernier opus, Un appartement sur Uranus, réunit ses articles parus dans Libération depuis 2013. En 2019, il a été le commissaire du pavillon taïwanais de la Biennale de Venise avec l’artiste Shu Lea Cheang et a fait partie du comité artistique de la Bergen Assembly en Norvège.

 

Pierre-Alexandre Mateos et Charles Teyssou : commissaires d’exposition
(octobre 2017-mars 2018)
Nés respectivement en 1989 et 1988 à Toulouse (France).
Ils vivent et travaillent à Paris.

Pierre-Alexandre Mateos et Charles Teyssou forment un duo de commissaires installés à Paris. En mai 2018, ils ont lancé le « Cruising Pavilion », une exposition interrogeant les liens entre pratiques sexuelles minoritaires et architecture, à l’occasion de la XVIe Biennale d'architecture de Venise. Ce travail a aussi fait l’objet d’une exposition à Ludlow 38, à New York, en février 2019, et s’est achevé à ArkDes, à Stockholm, en Suède, à l’automne 2019. En septembre 2018, ils ont présenté une exposition de groupe consacrée au baroque néolibéral à Converso, à Milan. Ils collaborent régulièrement à de nombreuses publications dont Flash Art et L'Officiel Art.

 

Annie Godfrey Larmon : critique d’art, écrivaine et commissaire d’exposition
(octobre-décembre 2017)
Elle vit et travaille à New York.

Annie Godfrey Larmon intervient régulièrement dans le magazine américain Artforum et a publié un livre sur l’artiste Ken Okiishi en 2014. Elle prépare deux ouvrages sur les artistes américaines Beverly Pepper et Mary Reid Kelley, tout en s’attelant à la rédaction de son premier roman.

 

Anna Colin : commissaire d’exposition
(octobre-décembre 2016)
Elle vit et travaille à Londres.

Anna Colin co-dirige l’Open East School à Margate (Angleterre), un espace dédié au développement artistique et à l’échange de savoirs et savoir-faire entre différentes communautés – artistiques et locales. Elle est également curatrice associée à Lafayette Anticipations –Fondation d'entreprise Galeries Lafayette à Paris.

 

Peio Aguirre : critique d’art, artiste et écrivain
(septembre-décembre 2016)
Né en 1972 à Elorrio (Espagne).
Il vit et travaille à Saint-Sébastien.

Peio Aguirre contribue régulièrement au magazine frieze. Commissaire indépendant, il a été en charge du pavillon espagnol de la Biennale de Venise de 2019, où il a exposé les artistes Itziar Okariz et Sergio Prego.

 

Sohrab Mohebbi : commissaire d’exposition
(septembre-décembre 2016)
Né en 1981 à Téhéran (Iran).
Il vit et travaille à New York.

Sohrab Mohebbi est commissaire d’exposition au SculptureCenter de New York depuis 2018. Il y a réalisé les expositions personnelles de Jean-Luc Moulène, Banu Cennetoğlu et Fiona Connor. Auparavant, il a été, pendant quatre ans, commissaire associé à REDCAT, un centre d’art lié à l’université californienne de CalArts.

 

Ahmet Öğüt : artiste
(automne 2016)
Né en 1981 à Silvan, Diyarbkir (Turquie).
Il vit et travaille à Berlin.

Ahmet Öğüt cherche constamment à créer des œuvres aux prises avec des enjeux sociaux – l’impact de l’activité économique sur le quotidien ou la réappropriation de l’outil par les travailleurs – grâce à un humour qui souligne, plus qu’il ne masque, la gravité des questions abordées.

 

Linda Yablonsky est critique d’art, journaliste et auteure du livre The Story of Junk: A Novel. Basée à New York, elle couvre le milieu de l’art international depuis plus de 25 ans pour de nombreux magazines, notamment le New York Times et T Magazine, Bloomberg News, Artforum et Artforum.com, ainsi que Art Newspaper et W Magazine. Elle a également contribué à des essais critiques, des monographies et des catalogues d’exposition sur des artistes tels que Anish Kapoor, Keith Sonnier, Marilyn Minter, Francesco Vezzoli, Elmgreen & Dragset, Mark Morrisroe and James Nares. Pendant sa résidence à Luma Arles en 2017, elle a pu travailler sur l’ouvrage Why Jeff Koons?, premier livre complet et détaillé consacré à la vie de l’artiste et sa carrière, publié aux Etats-Unis chez Henry Holt & Co.